HAPPY HOUR.

A party theatre night after Ernest Hemingway

Theatre production 2017

HAPPY HOUR is theatre play and safari club night in one. In the spirit of Hemingway, this free adaptation of "The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber" revolves around status, ecstasy and death. The safari from the short story turns into a party with music and cocktails.

 

The wealthy Macomber couple go on an adventure holiday in Africa. An exciting safari should give the rusty married life a new impetus. Experienced big game hunter Robert Wilson is hired to help Mr. Macomber succeed in hunting. But with every lion, every impala and every buffalo that falls victim to the ecstatic hunting frenzy, the safari is increasingly becoming a bitter struggle for power between the three protagonists.

In HAPPY HOUR, the safari holiday of Hemingway's short story from 1936 has been moved into a modern club hotel. The theatre night turns into an "all inclusive" safari adventure for the audience. There is African club music, dance performances, fitness, karaoke, a fashion show and the audience can order tropical cocktails at happy hour prices. In this sense, the title of the eveningcan be taken literally, but HAPPY HOUR also refers to the characters in Hemingway's story who are constantly on the lookout for the ultimate experience, a moment of self-fulfillment and ecstasy. The play eventually evolves into an actual club night and the viewers themselves become a party guest.

TEAM

with: Mira Mazumdar, Benjamin Hirt, Alexander Landsberger, Benjamin J. Edwards

Director & DJ: Julian Monatzeder

Fashion show & costumes: Sandra Doerfel

After-show DJ and sound: Julian Scheufler

Photos: Frank Schroth

Graphic design: Carina Müller, Denise Jaeger

               A production of   HAPPY DRAMA

 

DOWNLOADS

Julian Monatzeder in an interview with Michaila Kühnemann on Radio Munich (30.10.2017)

The actor Benjamin J. Edwards interviewed on SBS Radio

logo.PNG

HAPPY HOUR.

Eine Partytheaternacht nach Ernest Hemingway

Theaterinszenierung 2017

HAPPY HOUR ist Theater und Safari-Clubnacht in Einem. Ganz im Sinne Hemingways dreht sich diese freie Bearbeitung von Das kurze glückliche Leben des Francis Macomber" um Status, Ekstase und Tod. Aus der Safari in der Erzählung wird eine Party mit Musik und Cocktails. 

Das wohlhabende Ehepaar Macomber macht Abenteuerurlaub in Afrika. Eine spannende Safari soll dem eingerosteten Eheleben wieder neuen Schwung geben. Der erfahrene Großwildjäger Robert Wilson wird angeheuert um Mr. Macomber zum Jagdglück zu verhelfen. Doch mit jedem Löwen, jedem Impala und jedem Büffel, der dem ekstatischen Jagdrausch zum Opfer fällt, wird die Safari mehr und mehr zum erbitterten Machtkampf zwischen den drei Protagonisten.

In HAPPY HOUR ist Hemingways Kurzgeschichte aus dem Jahr 1936 in ein modernes Clubhotel übertragen. Die Theaternacht wird für die Zuschauer zum Safari-Abenteuer „all inclusive". Es gibt afrikanische Clubmusik, Tanzeinlagen, Fitness, Karaoke, eine Fashion-Show und die Zuschauer können tropische Cocktails zum Happy Hour Preis bestellen. Der Titel des Abends ist in diesem Sinne durchaus wortwörtlich zu verstehen. Happy Hour, das bezieht sich aber auch auf die Figuren in Hemingways Geschichte, die auf einer ständigen Suche nach dem ultimativen Erlebnis sind, einem Moment der Selbsterfüllung und der Ekstase. Das Stück entwickelt sich schließlich in eine tatsächliche Clubnacht, bei der der Zuschauer selbst zum Partygast wird.

TEAM

mit: Mira Mazumdar, Benjamin Hirt, Alexander Landsberger, Benjamin J. Edwards

Regie & DJ: Julian Monatzeder

Fashion-Show & Kostüme: Sandra Doerfel

After-Show DJ und Ton: Julian Scheufler

Fotos: Frank Schroth

Grafikdesign: Carina Müller, Denise Jaeger

 

               Eine Produktion von HAPPY DRAMA

 

DOWNLOADS

Julian Monatzeder im Interview mit Michaila Kühnemann auf Radio München (30.10.2017)

Der Schauspieler Benjamin J. Edwards im Interview auf SBS Radio

© 2020 Julian Monatzeder

  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis