TOLLER by Tankred Dorst.

A rock revue with theater and live music

Theatre production 2019

Munich in April 1919. In the turmoil of the revolution, a group of poets and idealists proclaim the socialist Munich Soviet Republic. The only 25-year-old poet Ernst Toller is fighting for his utopia of a fairer society. However, he soon finds that he cannot save the Soviet Republic from left wing fights or from their bloody doom.

In 1968, around 50 years later, at a time that was also shaped by a spirit of political change, Tankred Dorst wrote his play Toller. In it he shows the title character as a pacifist dreamer who cannot find his place between the two poles of socialism and social democracy.

Exactly 100 years after the Soviet Republic, the group Happy Drama combines the two time levels of the plot and the creation of the piece in its new production. In the style of a happening of the 1960s, elements of speech and figure theater mix with live music and dance to form a psychedelic rock revue.

 

 

 

          Julian Monatzeder staged Toller [...] in a refreshingly cheeky manner and also shows parallels to the political revolt of the 1960s. "

Dirk Wagner, Süddeutsche Zeitung (June 12, 2019)

           Happy Drama not only provides a historical account of the revolution of 1919, but also a rock-musical rewriting of Tankred Dorst's scenic revue. "

Christiane Wechselberger, Münchner Feuilleton (06/11/2019)

TEAM

with: Aaron Croy, Benjamin J. Edwards, Dominique Marquet, Antun Opic, Benjamin Hirt, Mira Mazumdar, Julian Monatzeder, Julian Scheufler, Roman Suschko

Directed by Julian Monatzeder

Graphic design: Denise Jaeger

Photos: Frank Schroth

               A production by HAPPY DRAMA

DOWNLOADS

© 2020 Julian Monatzeder

  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis

TOLLER von Tankred Dorst.

Eine Rock-Revue mit Theater und Livemusik

Theaterinszenierung 2019

München im April 1919. In den Wirren der Revolutionszeit ruft eine Gruppe von Literaten und Idealisten die sozialistische Münchner Räterepublik aus. Der erst 25jährige Dichter Ernst Toller kämpft als Vorsitzender für seine Utopie einer gerechteren Gesellschaft. Bald muss er jedoch feststellen, dass er die Räterepublik weder vor linken Flügelkämpfen noch vor ihrem blutigen Untergang retten kann.

1968, rund 50 Jahre später, in einer Zeit, die selbst durch politische Aufbruchsstimmung gekennzeichnet ist, schreibt Tankred Dorst sein Stück Toller. Darin zeigt er die Titelfigur als pazifistischen Träumer, der zwischen den beiden Polen Sozialismus und Sozialdemokratie seinen Platz nicht finden kann.

Genau 100 Jahre nach der Räterepublik verbindet die Gruppe Happy Drama in ihrer Neuinszenierung die beiden Zeitebenen von Spielhandlung und Entstehung des Stücks. Im Stil eines Happenings der 60er Jahre vermischen sich Elemente von Sprech- und Figurentheater mit Livemusik und Tanz zu einer psychodelischen Rock-Revue.

           Erfrischend frech inszeniert Julian Monatzeder Toller [...] und zeigt auch Parallelen zum politischen Aufbegehren der 60er Jahre.

Dirk Wagner, Süddeutsche Zeitung (12.06.2019)

           Happy Drama liefert nicht nur eine Bestandsaufnahme der Revolution von 1919, sondern auch eine rockmusikalische Überschreibung von Tankred Dorsts szenischer Revue."

Christiane Wechselberger, Münchner Feuilleton (11.06.2019)

TEAM

mit: Aaron Croy, Benjamin J. Edwards, Dominique Marquet, Antun Opic, Benjamin Hirt, Mira Mazumdar, Julian Monatzeder, Julian Scheufler, Roman Suschko

Regie: Julian Monatzeder

Grafikdesign: Denise Jaeger

Fotos: Frank Schroth

                Eine Produktion von HAPPY DRAMA

        

DOWNLOADS

© 2020 Julian Monatzeder

  • Instagram - Weiß Kreis